Home > Horse Causes > Update on the 3 Amigos Painting

Update on the 3 Amigos Painting

First off I apologize for the poor quality photos.  I love my working studio but about 5:00- 6:00 PM the sun comes in directly and then I have to start moving my easle so I don’t bake!   🙂  I scooted my easle as far away as I could from the sun but kept getting a shadow across the canvas.  since this is a work in progress I won’t worry about it.  I’ll take another, nicer photo when i am back in my studio.

I am loving the colors and the composition in this.  I usually don’t paint with straight lines and alot of perspective so this is good for me.  I don’t want the background to be very detailed because I want your eye on two things… first the beautiful mares in the front.  They will be bright and colorful and I think I am going to work it out so the front mare looks like she is about ready to step out… I think there is some symbolism there.  I don’t want this to feel sad or gloomy.  I want it to have hope and direction– since these horses were a big part in getting me more motivated in speaking out against horse slaughter  I think the strong lines represent this movement in me and many others.  I also want your eyes to go to the background where the horse in silohette IS getting out into the light.  Again I see the hope in this since its a reminder to keep doing what you can because SOME are getting out. 

This is on a 16 x 20 gallery wrapped canvas painted in oils.  I will auction off the original and then have limited edition prints made with proceeds going to help slaughter bound horses thru a 501 (c) 3 rescue. 

Work in progress of the 3 Amigos

Front mare detail

Thanks for following along.  I’ll post more soon. 

Sue Steiner, equine and animal artist

  1. Alicia Geske
    June 10, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    WOW Sue this is BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!! I love it already!!!!!!!!!!!
    You have an amazing talent – what a way to shed light on saving horses from slaughter. God Bless!

    • June 10, 2010 at 8:13 pm

      Thank you Terri and Alicia. I am excited about this painting too. Sometimes they just ‘feel’ right from the beginning. I should be able to finished it up in the next several days. Keep watching and I’ll post an update soon. Take care!

  2. June 10, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    This is shaping up to be a magical painting. Keep us posted!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

