Home > Horse Causes > ‘Trash To Treasure’

‘Trash To Treasure’

11 x 14 Trash to Treasure, Save a Face Project

11 x 14 original oil painting with 50% of the proceeds going to Another Chance 4 Horses. at http://www.ac4h.com 

I looked over this week’s batch of horses with the kill broker. I one I saw was a beautiful, big Belgian in dire need of some farrier work. Poor boy! Worked so hard out in the fields and this is the thanks he gets? The next horse I saw was a chocolate palomino QH mare. A real beauty!  You know every week takes alot of restraint NOT to offer to be a home for another horse. I am doing this to help redirect that desire. I’ve got 4 horses at home and to keep everyone ridden and handled, groomed and fussed over this is my limit. But anyways the chocolate palomino mare is beautiful as you’d imagine.   Each week you see big horses, skinny horses, minis, mules, donkeys, foals, pregnant mares, young horses, seasoned older horses….. breaks my heart.  These animals deserve a better end than slaughter. 

The horses I saw was just a small sampling of what happens week after week, all around our country. 

If you feel passionate about horses too please pass this along to people. 

I painted this after I saw those two. I took a more board I had used with some kids for a painting project and looked it over until I saw some kind of ‘horse shape’ in the kids design. I then painted it, leaving part of the kids painting showing thru. I thought thhis was fitting because the old artwork, rather than be discarded, was looked at with new eyes seeing potential rather than ‘trash’. These horses are alot like this. What was looked at by trash by one becomes another’s treasure. 

Please share this e-bay link on facebook, twitter and with your horsey friends. Thank you! 

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330435449700&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

  1. mary Williams
    May 20, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Beautiful, Sue! You need a pr person to advertise for you! This is a genuine mission.

    • May 20, 2010 at 5:22 pm

      Thanks Mary. The help with the advertising can come from whoever visits this site by posting links on facebook, twitter or mentioning in their blogs. Thats the beauty of the internet and social networking. It doesn’t cost anything to pass along the links and it really makes a difference. My thought is we don’t need more horses to crowded places but need more peopkle who are aware that can either support or give good homes to these animals. Thank you for your interest and for passing along information– it really does make a difference! Take care!

      • May 22, 2010 at 5:38 pm

        Mary and her girls just helped me rescue a TW. A kind, gentle soul who was ridden barebac and backwards… how can we send an animal like that to slaughter? Thank you Mary!!!

  1. August 15, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Leave a Reply

