Home > Horse Causes > The 3 Amigos, a beginning not an end

The 3 Amigos, a beginning not an end

horses from a 'kill pen'

The Three Amigos

Save a Face

As an animal artist I have a special interest in causes that help animals or victims of any kind.  I love fighting for the underdog and appreciate people who do the same. 
I had an experience recently of getting caught up in the beautiful, sweet faces of some rescue horses that did not get saved.  Often we don’t see the faces of those who were lost so my goal is to give a face to them and help raise awareness of horse slaughter.  As a portrait artist I am figuratively and literally drawn to faces so why not use that ability to raise awareness of the animals plight?  I was reminded of the power of seeing a face to move people…. we might be able to look away until we see the face and see the individual.   Once you see an individual than it is much harder to remove yourself from the tragedy of a lost being, whether it is a starving child in a third world country or an abandoned animal.  I want to capture those faces.  I have decided to take the emotions of feeling helpless and use it to do what I can to help.  
My first course of action will be to paint these beautiful young horses.  I will be offering the painting for sale on e-bay with the proceeds to benefit Another Chance 4 Horses.    I have another artist on board with this project who will be doing something similiar.  If you are an artist and have an interest in this project please let me know.  If you have a face and a cause you’d like attention drawn to please conact me as well.  You may post your info on my artist page on facebook  or leave a comment on this post.  My e-mail is artbysue@hotmail.com   
Thank you!
animal artist
  1. su nimon
    May 10, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Beautiful way to channel your sadness into positive action. You can’t bring them all home… but this project could create more homes. Good job!

    • May 10, 2010 at 6:40 pm

      No, I can’t bring them all home and it ate me up that I couldn’t bring those pretty girls home…. I knew if I did than the care of what I have already would suffer and thats not the goal. the goal is to bring more awareness and more education to the issue. More help = less sad stories. Thank you for your encouragement!

  2. Lisa Dorrell
    May 10, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    Sue ,
    I would like to see what I can do to help by some piece of artwork , haven’t really decided yet on what but let me know the when and where. I ‘d Love to help , I feel for these animals and wished I had more resources to directly help but maybe I can in this way .

    • May 10, 2010 at 6:38 pm

      Thank you Lisa. We would love your help in any way that works for you. I think the beauty of this project is many of us have felt overwhelmed by the scale of the problem and can feel it is really too much to make a difference. But if we all do a small part… and this grows… that the impact can have a real effect. It won’t happen overnight but we can’t discount how the little art, the little bits that we all can do will add up to alot. Appreciate your interest… keep checking back. I am adding info. and soon links and examples. The cards are actually fun to make and the materials are easy to find. You can do originals or small prints…I’ll write more about the actual construction of the cards in the next day or so. Thank you!

  3. Laura
    May 11, 2010 at 3:43 am

    It was a hard week last week while we worked to save the mass’s these girls slipped through our figures. I don’t think they will be forgotten any time soon and what your doing will insure the cause isn’t either.
    Great work

    • May 11, 2010 at 3:48 am

      Thank you Laura for stopping by. Yes, last week was rough but I think things happen for a reason and maybe this abrupt ending to these beautiful mares will be a catalyst to more awareness so more can get helped and we can put a stop to this. I am going to begin their painting tomorrow… I can’t wait to get started. Their faces captivated me from the beginning.

  1. June 7, 2010 at 2:03 am

Leave a Reply

